D2L - Change Final Grade Calculation Settings

Last Updated: 08/15/2017
Back to: D2L - Grades
Layout:
One Column
Two Column
This tutorial is operating system independent.

Overview

The following documentation demonstrates how to change the final grade calculation settings of a Desire2Learn course.

For more information on calculating final grades please visit the Calculating and Releasing Final Grades page.

Step 1

Log into your course and from the Assessments drop-down menu click on Grades.

Step 2

Click on Settings.

Step 3

Click on the Calculation Options tab.

Step 4

In the Grading System section there are three options to choose from on how to calculate grades for the course:

  • Weighted
  • Points
  • Formula

The Final Grade Released section allows instructors to adjust how final grades are tabulated for their course. Calculated Final Grade will have D2L keep track of students’ graded work and generate final grades based on raw numeric performance, while Adjusted Final Grades will allow instructors to make manual adjustments to student grades after they have been tallied.

Selecting Automatically release final grade allows students to see their current grade in the class (if Calculated Final Grade is also selected).

Step 5

Within the Grade Calculations section, instructors have two options on how to handle ungraded items:

  • Drop ungraded items: Excludes ungraded items from the calculation of grades. For example, this option will drop any assignment yet to be assigned, but is in the gradebook for future use in a term. This option will keep student grades more accurate throughout a semester.
  • Treat ungraded items as 0: Assigns a value of 0 as the points received for all ungraded items. This option is useful at the end of a semester if you would like all uncompleted student assignments that were ungraded for any reason as 0s.

*Note: The Drop ungraded items option is especially useful when the Automatically keep final grades updated option is checked, because it won't take into account grade items yet to be assigned/completed.

Step 6

When you have finished modifying your settings, click Save.